Judgment or Grace?

Mike Foster is one of the founders of People of The Second Chance. He is an incredible human being. He started POTSC to show people how to overthrow judgment and liberate love. I love that line!

He has challenged me every time I have heard him speak. Keep in mind that I’m a pretty easy-going person. Most people would not describe me as judgmental. I feel like the majority of my life I have given people the benefit of the doubt. Most of the time.

Have I been rotten?

Have I been judgmental and mean?

Have I thought I was better than someone else?

absolutely.

And that bothers me.

POTSC challenges us to think differently. When others are crushing someone for a mistake they made, POTSC people are loving them. They are in their corner.

How do you react when someone makes a big mistake? Especially if they did it intentionally?

Do you rush to tell someone else about it?

Do you laugh?

Does it make you feel better about yourself?

Photo by People of the Second Chance

I have really been working on this over the last few years. But I find myself having to continually choose to show more grace every day.

With my coworker, who deliberately lied to make himself look better to our boss.

With my neighbor, who talked about my other neighbor rudely.

With the Mom who ignores their child.

With the person who willingly is hurtful to me.

With the person who expects me to drop everything for them, even though they’ve continually made poor decisions.

With my family members who take advantage of me.

With the person who dresses in a way that I would never dress.

The list could go on and on.

Yet, I choose to show grace. And love. And support.

I have a long way to go. But I am working on being able to say that I am a proud member of People of the Second Chance.

How can you choose to show grace to someone today?

Will you choose to be part of the judgment problem or the grace solution?

8 Comments

Filed under Authenticity, Grace

8 responses to “Judgment or Grace?

  1. I choose grace! And I too have to constantly work at extending grace. Thanks for sharing about People of the Second Chance – I keep seeing their presence online and am intrigued.

  2. LOVE POTSC! They have continually challenged me to offer grace first! and I am SO much better at offering it to others before offering it to mySELF….

  3. Joy

    This really made me think Tammy. I had just been in my head stewing over something someone said to me. And judging them.. Thank you for the reminder to be part of the graceful solution not part of the problem. Can you get that this morning

  4. Did you write this one for me? You did, didn’t you. Great post. I’m always needing reminders in this area.

  5. This is so amazingly beautiful and raw. I love it… so so so much. I am so grateful to be a part of such an inspiring community.

  6. Grace! I was greatly encouraged by your post. It reminds me of a book I’m reading…”Respectable Sins.” I’ve never visited the site mentioned but I’m going now…after commenting of course.

Leave a Reply

