Peace

I have never been a major worrier. Most people would describe me as pretty laid back, or calm. But, I have had my seasons of worry.

English: Biting one's lip can be a physical ma...

English: Biting one’s lip can be a physical manifestation of worry. Español: Morderse los labios puede ser una manifestación externa de inquietud. Русский: Плачущая девочка. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

When I lost my job

When money was very tight

When we were behind on our bills

When I couldn’t find a new job

When I started to lose confidence

When my marriage was falling apart

When I wondered how we could get through it

You could add so many things to this list. But, that was then. Before I learned to stop fighting God. Before I learned to truly trust. Before I learned that I don’t have to do everything on my own. In fact, I had managed to mess up quite a few of those things entirely on my own.

The peace that comes when you finally say yes, and learn to live in conjunction with Him is indescribable.

“Love and fear are literally incompatible in our bodies.” John Ortberg

I am learning to live in this peace and state of happiness that I have never felt.

Have you experienced this? How are you pushing past the fear?

1 Comment

Filed under Motivation

One response to “Peace

  1. howdidwegethere

    Working in conjunction WITH Him as opposed to Him is so key :0).

    “How are you pushing past the fear?”

    Just as faith is a choice, so is fear (for the most part anyway. I believe there are certain medical conditions that manifest in fear). We need to take that next step from putting OFF fear to putting ON faith.

    There was a time in my life I was so controlled by fear it took over my life. I became involved in an incredibly legalistic church environment and that only fed the fear…of the world, of people, television, books, etc. You name it, we feared it.

    God mercifully opened my eyes to His grace. Only then was I able to replace fear with faith.
    It has been a journey and I have far to go. Just last night I was quite “concerned” (a much better way to phrase internally freaking out!).

    My daughter (20) was traveling alone to NYC for the weekend. It mattered not that I was born in Brooklyn and lived there until I was 33, that SHE was born there as well (though we moved to PA about 14 years ago)..AND that she has attending college there for 5 months! Fear of every bad guy in the city was running through my mind. I HAD to pray and replace the fears with faith. I actually had to remind myself that my faith is NOT in the cell phone she had to call when she got there, but in a God who is with her and knows how to take care of her better than me.

    Thanks for this post. I am visiting via Jeff Goins Writer website. You have a very lovelt place on the web :0)!

Leave a Reply

