You 2.0

We just completed an awesome series at our church called You 2.0. It was a series about redefining success and resurrecting your dreams. It was about choosing significance over safety, contribution over comfort, and embracing the path of uncertainty, mystery, and risk. It was about saying: Enough of ordinary. Average is overrated. Your life matters.

(For more details from this series, check out The Orchard Community’s Facebook page. There’s a great video by my Pastor about the series posted on April 11th.)

I have been learning to try to live this way over the last few years. I am continually understanding that there are things I can be doing to live a better story. I don’t have to live a numb, dull life. You can read how I started on this journey here.

I was extremely honored when my Pastor invited Rick and I to be a part of a group of people to share their stories during church last weekend. I talked about my blog, how your voice matters, and how I am learning to make a difference right where I am. Rick talked about starting mountain bike racing at the age of 43, and how he has taken significant steps forward in his faith over the last year. You can read more about his journey here. I have to tell you that it was pretty awesome. If you would have told me a year or two ago that Rick would be willing to get up in front of our entire church, for three services, and share his story, I would have said you were crazy! I am so proud of him.

I love Scott’s expression. I wish I knew what Rick had said during this picture!

We were honored to also share the stage with our friends, Toney and Laura Burton, Joy Thomas, and Tom Reber. They have amazing stories and each one of them inspires me.

Toney & Laura, Scott, Rick & I, Joy, and Tom

We heard so many great comments from people who were inspired by our stories. It is always nice to be able to help people see normal, real people who are taking steps forward. We certainly don’t have it all figured out, but we are all trying to live You 2.0.  A friend summarized our messages with this great status update on Facebook.

 No more waiting for “what if” moments… Time to let go of the brakes, accept who I’ve been created to be, believe my voice matters, take risks and live MOTOR!

We had a great weekend, and I felt good about being able to share our story.

We had some great laughs!

So imagine my surprise on Tuesday, when I had one of the worst days I’ve had in a long time. I am naturally pretty laid back and really don’t get worked up too often. But Tuesday was just one of those days. It stunk! I was extremely irritated and frustrated at work, and the day just continued on that same path. I don’t have days like this often, so it always catches me off guard.

I started doubting all of the things that I had just talked about over the weekend. The voices in my head were loud. And they weren’t nice. They were saying:  maybe I can’t really make a difference. What good can I do? Who am I to try to do this? Why can’t I figure out what my big dream is? Maybe I am not cut out for this.

That’s when I realized that fear, which is one of the things we talked about over the weekend, was showing up in full force. Fear was causing me to doubt myself. Fear was trying to isolate me. And as my Pastor always says, “Sometimes the things we fear the most are exactly the things that God wants to use.”

So, I am continuing to learn that living a unique life requires you to think differently. It requires you to constantly check where your attitude is. It requires you to understand that some days are going to be rough. It requires you to give yourself some slack. And to surround yourself with people who can help encourage you to keep living a better life.

Are you working on a dream? How do you silence those doubting voices?

Photos courtesy of The Orchard Community

3 Comments

Filed under Authenticity, Community, Dreams, Platform Launch Team

3 responses to “You 2.0

  1. How cool! Was it nerve-wracking being on the stage in front of your church?

    I am working on my dream – right now I am working on a children’s book with an illustrator friend. Yesterday all sorts of resistance kept pulling me away from our meetup (printer failure, nearly ran out of gas, illness, fear of collaboration) and I really wanted to just give in. As soon as I recognized the doubts, the distractions as Resistance I was able to take a breath, say a quick prayer, and speak truth into my life (“I am a writer.”)

    We did meet and had a great, lively discussion of where we really see this project headed. (Excuse my rambling on and on!)

    • That is awesome! I am so excited for you. I would love to keep hearing more, and help encourage you in this process.

      The first service was a little nerve wracking, but our Pastor is awesome and it just felt like a conversation. I am used to speaking in front of groups, so it wasn’t too bad. Keep me posted on your book!!

      • I can’t imagine speaking in front of groups – very cool that is was more relaxed and your Pastor let you both share – I love it!

        I will keep you posted on book – we are so excited! It’s hard to work on a single project; we keep getting ideas that we want to pursue…but we must say focused!

Leave a Reply

