Six months in…..

Six months ago, I started a journey to get healthy. I finally came to a decision that it was time to stop making excuses for my weight and my health. It was time to change.

I didn’t want to go on another diet.

I didn’t want to drop weight quickly, only to gain it back within a few months.

I no longer wanted to continue on the yoyo cycle that I’ve been on for years.

I wanted to learn how to be healthy.

Six months later, I have made significant progress. I am down more than two sizes, and am in better shape than I have been in a long time. I have lost weight, inches, and have so much more energy.

While the progress is important in order to help continue to motivate me, I am not focused on it. I am focused on making healthy changes. Eating better, working out consistently, and being more active are the main goals. For me, it’s the consistent small changes that make a big impact in the long run. I don’t feel deprived. I don’t feel like I can’t wait until this over. This is how I live now. And I feel stronger and more alive than I have in a long time. I feel like I am myself again.

I am convinced that each person needs to find what works for them. For me, these are the things that have been working.

I read Lysa Terkheurst’s Made to Crave book – it helped me view food differently

I listened to podcasts called Inside Out Weight Loss– it was like having your own personal counselor

I joined a kettlebell studio– This has become a habit (and somewhat of an addiction). I workout 4-5 times per week consistently. And I have an amazing support group of people who are also trying to get healthy. I also have a trainer who pushes us to do more than we would ever do alone. This has helped me remember how strong I am and that I can do whatever I put my mind to.

I stay off the scale – This works for me, as I am muscular and get frustrated by the numbers. I am also working to be healthy and stronger. My weight is not the most important factor in whether I feel healthy or not. I know this does not work for everyone, but it works for me.

I drink a ton of water – I drink water all day long. I also drink a big glass of water when I am hungry. It helps curb the cravings.

I forgive myself quicker and move on – If I have a bad day, don’t eat well, or don’t workout, I don’t continue beating myself up. I forgive myself and move on. Tomorrow is a better day. I was stuck in the cycle of giving up so quickly when I had a bad day. I refuse to do that anymore.

I have multiple support systems – I think this is so important. I have my workout friends, and I have several others who have lost weight and kept it off that I check in with. I share my progress and struggles. They’ve agreed to help motivate me and cheer me on when I need it. I think this is one of the biggest pieces that people sometime miss. Doing it on your own is not nearly as much fun and rewarding as having people help support you.

I am very excited to be starting a new year having already made significant progress. I know that I can continue with this lifestyle, as I’ve already been doing it for six months. The confidence and sense of accomplishment that I feel is so satisfying. I feel smaller, stronger, healthier, and more aware of who I am. I don’t ever want to go back to feeling how I did before this.

So, what works for you? I love hearing stories of how you are getting healthier.

12 Comments

Filed under Getting Healthy, Motivation

12 responses to “Six months in…..

  1. ted

    A sound mind, body and soul …. Nice job, Tammy.

  2. You ROCK, Tammy!! I am into control right now, and food and my body and what I put in it and what I do with it are one of the few things I can actually REALLY exercise control over. 24lbs down and I’m feeling GREAT!

  3. Tammy! So very proud of you! You are an inspiration!

  4. Tammy this is music to my ears and one of THE BEST blog posts that I have ever read!!! GREAT JOB and I very much appreciate your enthusiastic consistency and intensity to your health & fitness lifestyle. 🙂

    • Thanks, Bob! You are a big part of my journey, even though I rarely see you!! 🙂

      I am loving the workouts, and never have to think twice about getting out of bed to workout. I appreciate all of your support. And, Tricia deserves a raise! She is awesome.

  5. Awesome! So inspiring and truly reflecting the heart of God. I found your blog from SCL and that’s where I started this idea.

    If you go to my site, MarkWritesWords.com, and comment on any blog, then I will continue to check back and comment on your site as well.

    Let’s start a community of aspiring Jon Acuff’s and encourage one another.

    What do you think? Ready, Set, Go to MarkWritesWords.com and comment!

  6. I came to your blog from Jon Acuff’s site. He has created a tremendous forum for sharing our blogs and impacting more people with them.

    I hope my blog can be an encouragement to you also.

    I write it for encouragement and motivation daily.

    http://i-never-fail.blogspot.com

    Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to watching the connections grow!

  7. Pingback: Feeling stuck | tammyhelfrich

  8. Pingback: Gone from Sight | tammyhelfrich

Leave a comment